One Line Book Reviews

Sometimes I spend all my free time knitting, sometimes I will read until the wee hours of the morning.  I find that I shy away from reading at times because I get so absorbed, I can’t get anything else done.

Right now I am knitting.  But soon the reading bug will hit me hard again.

I never know what to read.  My taste ranges through the entire spectrum.  I am not above a “read at the beach” romance.  But I also enjoy (really, I do) classics like Shakespeare and Bronte.  And since I like a little bit of everything, but like to think that I have high standards, I stand in the bookshelves dazed and indecisive.

I have started to use the library in earnest, and have learned that they do not make it easy to browse.  The books are all stacked alphabetically, with the spines out.  Not really condusive to walking aimlessly picking up books that look interesting.  I need a library set up like Borders, I guess.

So I have been reading a lot of book reviews and jacket covers.  Of course, the publisher’s notes are useless…their aim is to make you buy the book.  And most reviews make me want to snore.  Or they give too much away, and I can reasonably guess the last ten pages from it.

What I would really like is just a one line, to the point review.  Something like “I liked it.  It read quickly, but it was over too soon.  Good if you like mysteries.”  That would be enough for me.  And while reviews like that are at the ready at Amazon, I don’t know these people from Adam, and don’t trust their judgement.

In the spirit of providing what I would like to find, I am going to start a One Line Book Review segment here on the Blahg.  When I have a few I will post them.  And since anyone reading this blog knows a little bit about me, they might actually mean something to you.

So, without further ado:

ONE LINE BOOK REVIEWS

  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Teenage melodrama crap.  But enjoyable crap that makes you read more and more.  Summed up:  “Oh Edward!”

  • Undaunted Courage by Stephen Ambrose

The journey of Lewis and Clark.  Prose style and great story propel you through.  And I actually learned stuff.

  • A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

Middle aged, unprepared men hike the Appalacian trail.  Piss your pants, laugh out loud on a plane funny.

  • Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

Inspiring story with some twists.  Wasn’t a “can’t put it down”, but good.  Plus you look smart reading it.

  • The Deadworks by Alan Goy

Read it in one day.  Interesting take on what happens when you die.  Loved the characters.  READ THIS BOOK.

  • The Bible

Long, disjointed, multiple authors make for confusion.  I found it a little preachy.

(Sorry, I couldn’t resist that one.  Giggle Giggle)

2 thoughts on “One Line Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

