Elvis Has Left the Building

Well, today the DH walked into work and told the Man that he could take this job and shove it. Okay, maybe it didn’t happen exactly like that, but no matter how it went down, the DH came home today jobless.

This has been on the back burner for years.  He hasn’t been happy working at the Big Bank for a while.  We would banter across the living room about what we would do if he quit:  retail store?  bar?  restaurant?  Maybe he would go back to school? It all started coming to a head a few months ago, and the way the banter was going I knew it was just a matter of time before he just up and quit.

After some careful examination of our savings we decided now was as good a time as any for him to walk away.  Wait any longer and there would (hopefully) be college tuition looming over us. Now, we have time to build a business/career before that happens.

I have to say I have never felt the drag of my dead weight on this marriage so acutely before. I can’t go back to my high powered career that I put on hold to have the kids, there isn’t one. The DH has been supporting me my whole adult life, so my employment options involve the minimum wage and working weekends. Yeah, yeah, yeah…I’m raising the kids.  But there’s no 401 K or Dental with that.

Am I nervous?  I suppose I should be.  Normal people would be.  But we have landed on our feet in all kinds of situations before.  I believe in the DH and the Universe enough to know that this will all work out fine.  My parents and sister will be thrilled to hear that plan B does involve Bozeman, though I highly doubt that will be necessary.

Truth be told one of my first thoughts was to yank the kids out of school for a month or two and do a Big Camp for a couple of months. Then I realized that would involve being alone camping with the DH and the kids for a couple of months.  Maybe when they get older…

So, I guess we need to have a party to celebrate.  Watch this space.

One thought on “Elvis Has Left the Building

Leave a Reply

