The Real Reason We Celebrate Today

You might think today is special because it is Valentine’s day. Well, you’d be

WRONG!


 

PITCHERS AND CATCHERS REPORT!

That’s right ladies and gentlemen, baseball season is, for all intents and purposes, underway. Well, for the Cubs at least.  The Sox don’t call theirs until the 17th. Pussies  (sorry mom).

All across Arizona, the Boys of Summer are coming by plane and by limo, shaking off the winter blues and reporting to their respective Cactus League parks. The Cubs will have Matt Garza in the “new faces” category and Kerry Wood in the “haven’t I seen you here before?” one. Kerry and Ryan Dempster are the oldest men in the pen, birth year 1977. The youngest pups were born in 1988 (I just threw up a little in my mouth).

My sister’s favorite player, Carlos Zambrano, will be back on the mound. Can’t wait to see how all his off-season anger management classes went. I hope not too well:  I would miss his hissy fits in the dug out. Sometimes they were the only thing that made the games worth watching.

My sister’s real favorite player, Geovany Soto will be reporting to try to whip these pitchers into shape. Let’s hope he comes out swinging. We’ll need him.

Will this be the year? I’ve been a Cubs fan long enough to not worry about that anymore. Sure, I would love to stand on Michigan Avenue while we shower the boys with a ticker tape parade…hey, now that Daley won’t be Mayor it could actually happen. But while statistically, someday it must happen, I have no illusions that it will be during my lifetime. Nope, now I just sit back and enjoy the game. Sure, sometimes they play worse than the Terrors’ park and rec teams, but sometimes they actually do play like the pros they are. And those moments make even a craptastic season worth watching.

So, you might love today because it’s all wine and roses and chocolates and lovey dovey stuff. I love today because we are back in business boys. Back in business.

With those who don’t give a damn about baseball, I can only sympathize.  I do not resent them.  I am even willing to concede that many of them are physically clean, good to their mothers and in favor of world peace.  But while the game is on, I can’t think of anything to say to them.  ~Art Hill

Pitchers and Catchers report.

Leave a Reply

