HUGE Pet Peeve

A friend of mine forwarded Mr. Mali’s “In Defense of Teachers” speech on FB earlier today. He had a bunch of other stuff on You Tube so I surfed for a while and found this: someone who shares my hatred for the not-supposed-to-be-a-question.

You know what that is, though I’m not sure there is a true technical term for it. It is when someone makes a statement. It could be something as simple as: I like milk. In your head the tone of the word milk does not rise. But this day and age, for some unknown reason, the declaration has turned into “I like milk…?” as if asking permission to have an opinion.

As much as I hate to admit it, this unwillingness to actually state anything in definitive terms seems to afflict way more women than men. It makes me want to pull my hair out…?

Leave a Reply

