A Tangled Web

My dear friend, Wifey-poo, asked me to help her out with her daughter’s birthday cake. This was an opportunity to make something sinfully girlie and there was no way I was going to say no to that.

She asked for a “Tangled” themed cake, and I have to admit, I LOVE that movie. A quick call to Disney Debbie, and I was in possession of the DVD. After a few viewings I decided to move away from the sketch I’d done with Wifey-poo. There are all these beautiful murals in the movie, and I wanted to try to recreate those on the cake. We had talked about putting a few flowers on the cake. I decided to kick that up a notch…

It wouldn’t be one of my cakes if there wasn’t a disaster in the process somewhere. This time it was frosting the bottom layer. I had wanted it to just be buttercream. My skills in the frosting department have been improving, so I went for it. Well, frosting works better when you haven’t put too much sugar in it. I managed to get it all on the cake, but it looked like a bad spackle job. Lukily, I had enough fondant left over to cover the atrocity, and all was good.

The flowers are made from gumpaste. This is a technique I have been dying to try for a while now. They are much more delicate than anything you can do with frosting or fondant. The colors weren’t as vibrant as I had hoped and I rolled them a little too thick, but every cake is a learning experience.

The murals were the best part. I am not known for my drawing prowess, so this was a huge risk for me. But I was very happy with how they turned out (the pig might be my favorite)

I decided to take the cake in two separate boxes. That way I wouldn’t have to worry about the top sliding to its doom if I had to slam on the brakes. It was the longest eight blocks of my life, but I managed to get it there safe and sound. Coach and Wifey-poo were happy with it, and they assured me that their lovely daughter was as well. What more could you ask for?

One thought on “A Tangled Web

Leave a Reply

