Big Day

I’m supposed to do this once a week, so even though I really don’t have much to talk about, I’ll give it a go.

I’m positively giddy…Playoff football and the Golden Globes tonight. The Pats game is all but won by now, and I’ll watch the Globes later. It’s nights like tonight that the extra charge for the DVR is worth every penny. I don’t have to sit through any speeches or inane interviews. Look at the dress, judge the dress, move on. Hopefully this year there will be some spectacular fashion fails. Of course, if I were there, I would certainly fall into that category, so I feel its okay for me to be judgmental.

I took my extra energy and finally took down the Christmas tree (can you hear the DH exclaiming “about time!” from there?), and get all but one of the decorations down in the basement.

I also did something wildly out of character: I made bread. Once upon a time I used to make bagel for my friends and I when we lived in Hong Kong and bagels were hard to come by. But I am not a bread maker. I am an enthusiastic bread eater, but have never had the patience to make it myself. Well, for reasons beyond me, we have a butt load of bread flour. I can’t imagine what we bought it for, but I can guarantee you that it probably wasn’t for making bread. Anyway, I’m tired of it taking up space in my cabinet, so I pulled out the KitchenAid mixer and went to work.

Another reason I gave this a go was that there is this nifty setting on my oven: “Bread Proof”. Instead of having to wait a couple of hours for the bread to rise, this setting is supposed to cut that time to 20 minutes or so. And damn if it didn’t work. Two lovely round loves of country white bread with minimal effort. Not too shabby.

I also did something wildly in character and burnt the crap out of one of the good pans. Luckily it was a stainless pan, so a good deglazing got me off the hook. I hate it when I do that. I’m not the most focused chef, so I do that more than I would like to admit.

Well, the Terrors are all getting along, listening to the stereo too loud and playing Yatzee. I should go prepare for the end of the world. At least now I know how to make bread.

Leave a Reply

